Four Songs for soprano and piano

(1966) 9'

Published by Theodore Presser Co.

Program note

Set to texts by the eighth century Chinese poet Li Po (also Li Bai, Li Bo), in translations by Shigeyoshi Obata, these brief songs seek to capture the beauty, understated, restrained expressiveness of the four poems: I. The Tears of Banishment, II. On a Quiet Night, III. Lines, IV. The Night of Sorrow.